MOREHEAD RAILROAD AND HISTORY MUSEUM
130 East First Street | Thursday – Saturday | 11 a.m. – 5 p.m. | Or by appointment by calling: 606-784-6039 or 606-784-5122
Travel back in time to our railroad and general history of Morehead and Eastern KY museum. Featuring:
- Railroad artifacts from the six historic railroads which ran in Rowan County,
- Artifacts/stories from the infamous Rowan County Feud
- Sit atop a 1947 Farmall tractor and have your picture taken.
- A blacksmith shop and its collection of tools from a bygone era.
- Listen to a player piano belt out “The Old Piano Roll Blues”.
- Visit a real moonshine still taken in a raid and see how moonshine is made.
- Local Native American artifacts from arrowheads to stone tools
- A Six-foot radio controlled model of the “Belle of Louisville” steamboat back when she was called the “Avalon”.
- An early motion picture projector called the “Cosmograph,” manufactured right here in Morehead
- Model train displays and working layouts plus a large screen theatre room where live presentations and videos are frequent additions.
ROWAN COUNTY VETERANS’ MUSEUM
118 University Blvd | Sat 10 a.m. – 2 p.m. and on Patriotic Holidays or via appointment by calling Danny Knipp at 606-653-7190 or Bill Bolen at 606-776-3147
Dedicated to honoring our flag, military and veterans, this nonprofit organization is committed to education and preservation. It has over 375 artifacts from all five branches of the military.
- Free tours are offered to educational and civic groups upon request.
- Freedom Park, a memorial wall displaying names of Veterans, celebrates and commemorates our Rowan County Veterans who have served in the nation’s military.
- The Doughboy Statue showcases an American WWI soldier and commemorates all those who served during the World War from Rowan County. The pedestal was placed in 1919 and the statue was placed in 1929.